Yelling

Yelling

Last Sunday we had a speaker address peace in the home.

I love this topic. I try to keep things clean, quiet and cultivate a place where my family wants to be.

She mentioned that when she got married her in-laws told the young couple in 51 years of marriage they never raised their voices at each other. She wanted to model the same.

I thought, me too!

Michael and I have disagreed, but we have NEVER yelled at each other. I can’t picture it happening.

I want to say that in 51 years.

I want to commit myself to be a peaceful, approachable wife.

One of the greatest blessings we can offer to the world is the power of a Christ-centered home where the gospel is taught, covenants are kept, and love abounds.” –Elder Scott

Michael is my partner in this, and I love him for it.

Here’s the talk from Elder Scott.

I’ve met this man. He radiates peace. He emulates love.

Can’t picture him hurting a soul.

“Many voices from the world in which we live tell us we should live at a frantic pace. There is always more to do and more to accomplish. Yet deep inside each of us is a need to have a place of refuge where peace and serenity prevail, a place where we can reset, regroup, and reenergize to prepare for future pressures.

The ideal place for that peace is within the walls of our own homes, where we have done all we can to make the Lord Jesus Christ the centerpiece.” –Elder Scott

Christ is the ultimate example. Although he was strong, he was compassionate. He had a balance of justice and mercy unparalled.

As a parent, it’s our ultimate goal to be like Him.

I want to create a home where His Spirit can reside.

My kids deserve that, because in a sense, they left God’s presence to come here.

Click on this and read it, you won’t be sorry:

The Important Thing about Yelling: http://www.handsfreemama.com/2013/05/22/the-important-thing-about-yelling/

A mom tells of her transformation from yelling at her kids and how’s she’s learned to control her outburts and emotions.

Although I’ve never yelled at Michael in the years we’ve been together, there’s something about kids that can tip you over.

This mom received a tender note from her 9-year-old daughter that read,

“The important thing about my mom is … she’s always there for me, even when I get in trouble.”

This was so special to the mom because her daughter was no longer afraid of her when she dropped the cereal or some other clumsy mistake. She knew that her mom was there for her.

She says, “Yes, it was those things—normal mishaps and typical kid issues and attitudes that irritated me to the point of losing control.”

“That is not an easy sentence to write. Nor is this an easy time in my life to relive because truth be told, I hated myself in those moments. What had become of me that I needed to scream at two precious little people who I loved more than life?'”

Read it in her own words as it’s beautifully written.

After some searching for a change she explains, “And over time, the fear that once flared in my children’s eyes when they were in trouble disappeared. And thank goodness, I became a haven in their times of trouble—instead of the enemy from which to run and hide.”

I don’t want to be a mom who yells. I want to have a peaceful home full of the Spirit.

The few times I have raised my voice, let out a sigh of frustration, or just “lost it” I have always regretted it. It’s not worth it.

I don’t want to be a scary mom.

I want to be the mom wiping up the chocolate syrup right alongside her.

I want to be the mom who doesn’t cry over spilled milk.

But literally, Nora spilt milk all over my couch.

This is what being a mom is all about.

It’s not glamorous, but it’s God’s way to teach us how to become as He is.

It’s part of building a peaceful home and raising a family.

I love it and I’m recommitting myself to be a better mom, today and always.

Because, look at these faces…

My Loves

My Loves

Jill_Taylor_Words_Blog

One response to “Yelling

  1. Agreed. I try to live by this philosophy as well. I come from a line of households who yelled so it’s be amazing for me see the difference in a home where there is none.

Tell me what you think!