Samaritan

Every Sunday I get all three of my daughters dressed for church and out the door. Some days it goes better than others, but I am always relieved when I arrive and greet Michael after his meetings.

One morning the girls were in a particularly good mood and so we snapped a few photos.

img_3224

img_3226

img_3221

img_3217

img_3219

img_3212

I never want to forget how they wanted to pick all the flowers. They were giggling together, running around and happy. As a mom, I am beginning to understand different levels of joy… and this was a little moment for me. It’s so rewarding to raise young girls with confidence, purpose and a kind heart.

My daughters are learning right from wrong. They’re working hard to be kind. Now that my oldest is away at school for most of the day, I am amazed at how much she is learning. She is a sponge. Reading, writing, telling time, doing fractions… It’s incredible. Only a matter of time I’ll need to be googling homework answers if she asks me for help. πŸ˜‰

What is also rewarding is to see this learning carry over into her understanding of the gospel of Jesus Christ. As we study from the scriptures each night, she has answers to our questions and she is “getting it.”

One of their favorite videos to watch is “The Good Samaritan.”

It’s always been one that I like to ponder. I often have to check myself to ensure I am not like the priest or the Levite who continued on, disregarding the poor man.

I remember how I felt as a child, when I pictured the Samaritan coming to his rescue. That’s who I wanted to be like. I wanted to be like the Savior.

There is a lot of division in this country right now. It reminds me so much of the Samaritan. The Levites would walk all the way around, simply to avoid Samaria. There was deep hatred and misconceptions.

I do know that we are all children of our Heavenly Father, and we can find common ground.

Carmen came home with a project about the election, where Clinton and Trump were both illustrated, and there were some facts about each candidate. I felt silly as I read through their credentials. It seemed so basic.

He as a businessman, five kids, etc. and she as a former first lady, lawyer, etc. It took me by surprise for a moment because the world has made it so complicated. So much hatred and lies.

I think one of the rewards of having children is to see things through their eyes. This was one of those times for me. It doesn’t have to be so messy.

In fact, this story was rather touching about the grocery store Samaritan.

My daughters are my world. I love them,Β  and I will treasure every moment… at least the ones where they like to pick flowers and smile for me…

afton5

afton3

afton1

Tell me what you think!

