Divine Design

Dads are special.

By divine design, dads have a special role in the family. There is not one right way to be a dad, but there are many ways to be a great one.

“By divine design, fathers are to preside over their families in love and righteousness and are responsible to provide the necessities of life and protection for their families. Mothers are primarily responsible for the nurture of their children. In these sacred responsibilities, fathers and mothers are obligated to help one another as equal partners.”

I feel like my daughters are blessed with one of the very best dads. We are on the same team. We work hard to support each other. He has a hard job, and he does the best he can every day to balance his demands.

June was a busy month for us.

Michael turned 31, and it was fun to celebrate him.

IMG_2476

IMG_2494

IMG_4023

Night out with friends to celebrate!

IMG_4056

Sushi date…

 

IMG_4462

We were also able to celebrate him on Father’s Day. We caught him mid-shave, and wanted to show him our annual scrapbook.

IMG_2555

The girls picked out blue dresses to wear, because it is Michael’s favorite color.

IMG_2561

Then, we also got to celebrate Don.

Unfortunately for much of June, he was in the hospital for some mucus in his lungs. He was able to clear the infection (thankfully) and now benefits from a feeding tube to avoid aspirating.

Benjamin and Donny came in to celebrate with us, and it was a special holiday to think of Don and all he does to lead our family.

IMG_2588

We had a lot of fun…but this picture made me laugh.

Chillin on our phones while hanging in the hospital.

IMG_4229

We were just glad they moved us to the VIP suite and out of this tiny ICU room… Hilde was Lysol-ing everything because there were germs everywhere!

IMG_3941

I’ll cherish this picture for along time, I’m sure…

IMG_2595

Daddy Taylor sneaking Afton some fruit snacks…

IMG_4190

We gave Don a blanket with some of his favorite pictures on it. I thought it was the perfect gift for him! He loved it!

IMG_4281

Now that he’s doing well and back home, the rest of the summer he spent resting and watching us by the pool.

He loves sneaking his grandkids chocolates, and he loves watching them learn how to dive. He smiles, gives hugs and he makes me happy!

IMG_3121

One of the funny things I want to remember is Afton picking the fake flowers. She picks them off the plant and Daddy Taylor thought it would be funny to stick them in his hair. He doesn’t have much strength, but one by one, he’ll put a flower in his hair and she’ll go back for another. It makes her smile.

IMG_4990

IMG_4537

Another special memory was celebrating Don’s 58th birthday. Christina and Dustin and Benjamin and Kaly were there, and we had a brisket dinner and opened some great gifts. The highlight was a wonderful quiz all about Don! We had to fill in the blanks about some of his famous lines, and we all laughed together!

It was great to celebrate him and learn some new things too!

IMG_3124

We also got some El Lugar tacos in his honor..

IMG_6345

And us girls accidentally matched…

IMG_6327

Anyway, this man knows how to love. He radiates goodness and is always thoughtful of the “one.” He is a great dad, and an even better Daddy Taylor.

IMG_5878

Afton has always loved snuggling with him, and it melts my heart every time.

IMG_4461

IMG_6636

My dad and I have always shared a special bond. He always makes me laugh, and he brings the FUN!

IMG_2993

My parents said goodbye to my brother, and now they are officially empty nesters!

IMG_4339 IMG_4345

This means they can come visit anytime!! πŸ˜‰

So they decided to take a weekend trip to San Antonio and meet us at Sea World!

IMG_5939

IMG_5946

It was the perfect day, but one of my highlights was riding the roller coaster with my Dad.

IMG_5991

For some reason it made me feel alive and free.. like a kid again!

He has the magic touch, and my girls had a lot of fun with him!

IMG_6066

IMG_5968Β  IMG_6022

IMG_6073

Before they left, we stopped for church. My dad is a natural teacher, and I snuck this picture of him teaching Carmen how to lead and read the hymns.

IMG_6102

A little tex-mex and they were on their way!

IMG_6110

When I think about dads, I think about the tremendous influence they have. They can lead out families, be strong and courageous and set a righteous example.

Before school Michael gave each daughter a back-to-school blessing. As I peeked open my eyes, the image of it all made an impact on me. In that moment I felt blessed to have a worthy priesthood holder in my home, and that my little 2-year-old could feel that it was a special time to sit still. I am grateful for righteous fathers in my life.

When my brother had his first baby just this summer, he was beaming. He and his wife are doing so well, and it makes me smile every time I think about it.

When I asked him how he felt he said, “Jill, I feel like I was born to be a Dad.”

IMG_4309

It truly is life-changing. What I love the most, is that IS the plan.

Sure, jobs and sports and travel is great. But why are we here? We’re here to raise a righteous family and return to God. We are here to be fathers, mothers and saints. We need each other and we certainly need dads.

Save

Save

Save

Tell me what you think!

