Growing Pains

So you’ve heard the term “growing pains,” but being a mom there is a whole new meaning to growing pains.

It’s not the staggering pain in your legs when you’re sleeping, but it’s the pain in your heart that your kids are getting older.

I know, I know. It’s an inevitable part of life. We are all getting older and older by the day. I can’t believe my 10-year reunion is coming up and I have wrinkles when I smile for pictures. That’s real life, yo.

I’m ok with me getting older, but I’m really not ok with my kids getting bigger. It’s probably because I’ve been used to having babies around non-stop. This is my first time with a child in school, loosing baby fat, and acting SO OLD!

But the moment it really hit me, was when Carmen lost her first tooth. She had talked about it nonstop, and I have no idea how it happened so quickly! She’s one of the younger ones in her class by a longshot, so I just figured she’d be one of the last to lose a tooth, to drive, you know…the grown up stuff! ahh!

IMG_7907

I didn’t feel the growing pains so bad when she pulled it out. It was mostly when I first felt it wiggly. We were in her bed and she said, “MOM! My tooth is loose!” And me, being in denial of these types of things, doubtingly felt her tooth. And it wiggled. Dagger in the heart.

I’m happy to report that it was a family event when it finally came out. Michael came home from work and gave it a good little nudge and that thing popped right out! She was ecstatic.

IMG_7905

Our tooth fairy went all out..probably to preserve the essence of youth, but nonetheless, Carmen was THRILLED in the morning with her sparkly dollar, silver half dollar, picture sleeping with the tooth fairy, pixie dust, note and all! Even our Elf Tixie got involved in the fun.
IMG_7912 IMG_7913 IMG_7916 IMG_7917 IMG_7921 IMG_7926 IMG_7927

So that’s Carmen. My toothless little thing.

And if that wasn’t enough, I went to eat lunch with her at school, and took this picture of her with her friends. For some reason, it made me fast forward to middle school, high school, and well… girlfriends!! ahh…Help us all.

IMG_8079

Then we have Nora. Who just sprung out of nowhere to be super smart, and tall, and well…grown up!!

This picture was taken at preschool, where she can write her name, all of her letters, and told Santa she wants a yo-yo for Christmas. I love her.

IMG_7934

Then there’s Afton. 18 months and cutting all of her canines. Help us all. That’s some real growing pains. But really, she’s SO big. Stringing tons of words together. She can say Hi mom, bye bye dad, thank you, all done, night night, water, more, shoes, all her body parts, fish, dog, hair, monkeys jumping on the bed, patty cake, and tons of other words I can’t think of right now. She has to be in the middle of everything. She’s never a step behind. She loves to cuddle, and loves to sing. She is so sweet, and getting very opinionated. All part of growing up!!

IMG_8095

Oh, and she has some pretty cute girlfriends too.. ahh!!

IMG_7842

 

Tell me what you think!

