Endurance

Back when Michael ran his first marathon, I thought “Oh good, I’m glad we crossed that off the bucket list.”

After seeing the physical dedication it took to do something like that, I thought there’s no way someone would want to go through that again.

Alas, here we are. We’ve signed up for a race in November, but this time… I’m running a half marathon with him!! I can’t believe it. I really am going to die.

IMG_4265

I ran track in high school, I enjoy running, but I do not do well with long distances. Let’s just say the furthest I’ve ran is probably 1-2 miles. Tops.

Last Saturday I ran 7 MILES!! I couldn’t believe it. Ran is somewhat generous, because I walked the last two. It messed up my pace, but whatever, I did it!

IMG_4905

IMG_4846

It’s hard. It’s hard to push yourself to this physical and mental limit. It’s an ongoing battle… up a hill, one more mile, etc. etc. The whole time I hear Jillian Michaels saying, “you are capable of so much more than you realize…” or whatever her go-to pump up speech is. I truly am learning about myself, each step of the way!

That’s when this quote came to mind from President Gordon B. Hinckley:
GBH

Life is to be enjoyed, not just endured. Some days it feels like we are enduring. It’s tough, long and tiresome. But other days I try to remember, it’s to be enjoyed too! Life is not just one big to-do list to check off, but little moments that matter.

This hit close to home as my dear FIL has gone through some health challenges and has been diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease. It’s been incredible to watch those he loves rally behind him, lift him, and support him. He’s gone through drastic changes in the last year, but his faithfulness remains constant. He is a rock and a true follower of Christ. When things haven’t been going his way, family members have sent love and encouraging words to lift him. He gives the best hugs and is so tender with my daughters. I love him dearly.

IMG_4873

If that wasn’t enough to endure, his wife just got in a horrible car accident. It puts life in perspective, and it makes the little moments in life matter just that much more. She is full of life and light, and I can’t imagine losing her.

Life can change over the course of a year with declining health, or it can change in a matter of minutes with a car accident. That’s why life isn’t just about enduring…

IMG_4657IMG_4658

Just last month my parents got to host Michael’s parents in Utah and treat them to a fun dinner date night away. This picture they sent me is one of my favorites. These four people have shaped my life more than anyone else I know. Their love and support knows no end.

IMG_4215

Then there are soccer Saturdays… of course soccer is much more trivial than health or car accidents, but it’s enduring nonetheless.

IMG_4845

We love soccer. We love going. We love watching… we just wish Nora would kick the ball and Carmen’s team would win. Hence the enduring part. πŸ˜‰

IMG_4585

Then there are the regular days. Yes, the days that feel like they aren’t worth documenting. These are the days we are enduring…

When Michael falls asleep, worn out and exhausted.Β  Β  IMG_3836

Or when the girls pull out every conceivable thing in our play room… just swimming in pink.

IMG_4679

Or when my baby poops on a book. How does that even happen?

IMG_4696

These are the days that are just not to be endured…

I’m trying to remember to take time to enjoy life. Every step of the way!Β  IMG_3867Because these are the days I’m going to look back on and miss.

Tell me what you think!

