Camera

So I know there are many self-proclaimed photographers, but I will never be one. It’s because I just can’t go there. I realize that there are many who have an eye for it, and I am one that just has a love for it.

My uncle made his living as a professional photographer in the film days. I would work for him over the summer, helping arrange the senior photos.

I also helped out on some prom shoots…those were fun. Posing the high school couples and keeping things rolling. Uh, put your hand here… haha… I enjoyed being around my uncle and appreciating what he does.

There’s some things you learn as a professional since the 70’s that just make you that much more of an expert.

Hence, I will never be on that level. haha.

IMG_8011

I’ve always had a camera, a real camera.

Even before the smart phones, I would take my digital camera out on Friday night and I would take photos. It’s the only way I can remember events. I am terrible at recalling vacations, details or family events unless I took a picture of it.

I have a high school album full of pictures, college albums, you name it…I have it. Printed.

I write in a journal regularly, I blog, I take photos, I have tons of family albums… I think I got it covered.

Capturing memories really mean a lot to me.

Anyway, I just love that we now have cameras in our back pockets. It’s a treasure to me to be able to capture any moment, at any time.

I do wonder how our children will grow up in this age…always smiling for a camera. I’m sure it can’t be too healthy, so I try not to overdo it.

But they are at the golden age of smiles… check it out!

IMG_8274

IMG_8276

I got a new camera because my other one broke. While sometimes my phone is enough, I just love to have a real camera to document the big milestones.

Like this little munchkin is almost 1 year old. Where did the time go?

IMG_8309

I love this sailor dress more than anything, and those two teeth on the bottom kill me!

 

IMG_8314

I love my sweet Afton Marie. I hope she knows how special she is.

Her name has special meaning, as it is in the family, but there is also another Afton who caused quite a stir.

Afton Wallace was diagnosed with Ewing’s sarcoma, a rare bone cancer, and just passed away today. She inspired everyone with her faith, #aftonstrong, and her story.

Fighting for over a year, she fought until the end. Her family was open about her struggle and would constantly give updates on her condition. Her dream was to graduate from high school, which she did just days ago. I watched a video of clip of her receiving her diploma, and tears streamed down my face. What a special spirit to be taken from this earth and countless people saying “thank you” for her inspiration.

She also wanted to get into BYU, which she did, and was able to go to the temple during her birthday celebration weekend.

She is Michael’s aunt’s niece, (if you followed that) and so we mourn for their family as well.

I wrote on her wall just a day before her birthday, just 10 days ago. I shared a picture of my little Afton and I told her about my little girl.

 

afton

There are some people who start a ripple and change everyone within their reach.

I hope and pray I can be someone like that…and teach my daughter’s their true worth and value. It’s amazing how one person can change the world…and how a camera can change how we see the world.

I love it.

 

2 responses to “Camera

  1. I can tell you , you are definitely an impacting ripple in my world!! I am LOVING your blog Jill!! Great insight to everything! You are such an incredible example! πŸ˜‰

Tell me what you think!

