Chance

c

People may wrongly assume I have all my ducks in a row.

Although I may like my house clean and things organized, I’m not a control freak.

I don’t put my makeup on the same way every day. I don’t even get dressed according to any routine.

I like to keep life interesting. Never the same breakfast, and there’s always a chance something doesn’t go as planned in my day.

That’s the spice of life I guess.. chance.

I love the idea:

“You must make the choice, to take the chance, if you want anything in life to change.”

Choice

I’m pretty good at seeing the big picture. I know how I want my life to be, how I’d love for all of my daughters to be best friends, yatta yatta… Things look good down the road.

But it’s how we live our lives in the every day, that will ultimately bring this reality. You’ve heard it before, the choices we make today determine our destiny. It’s the quote you’ve seen pinned and repinned over and over.

But how often do we really change our little choices? Are we able to take our far-off focus and zoom into our reality for a minute?

What am I doing today that is choosing the life I want to live for the future.

Anne Frank says, “Parents can only give good advice or put them on the right paths, but the final forming of a person’s character lies in their own hands.”

I am trying to equip my daughters with the abilities to make choices.

For example, when they fight, cry, or have a problem. I’m not the problem-solver.

They are. I don’t jump in right away. If they come to me, the first words out of my mouth are usually, “What do you think we should do about it?”

It turns out they usually have some good ideas. Takes the pressure off me, and hey, who says I have all the answers.

They are going to have to solve dozens of problems in their lives. They’re going to have to make millions of choices.

I’m trying to raise young girls who can choose which shoes to wear, to bring a jacket or not, or which cereal they’d like…because these choices don’t really matter….yet…

What they will hopefully gain is the ability to make choices. They will know what it feels like to take a risk, apply themselves, and go with it.

We talk a lot about consequences in our family. It may sound funny to hear a 3-yr-old warn, “But if we don’t put our toys away, Mom said we will have a consequence.”

I lay out consequences clearly though out our day. I warn my daughter who likes to change clothes, “If you’d like to wear different shorts, you will need to help me fold the laundry this afternoon.” Then she can decide if that choice is worth it.

When they’re big and making grown-up choices, it will be even more scary. They’ll live with their choices, and I hope they’ll still come to me.

The tricky part will be if I can be smart enough to still say, “What do you think we should do about it?” 😉

Chance

This is the part I struggle with. Taking a chance…

My husband and I laugh. We’re not too spontaneous and neither of us are risk-takers. We like our simple life, and we don’t feel the need to jump off a bridge for that “high.”

But when you do take a chance, it can be exhilarating. When you step out and try something new, there is usually beauty there.

I want to do more of this. I want to take more chances. I want to say YES more.

I came across Joanna Gaine’s beautiful testimony how God led her to HGTV’s Fixer Upper, where she’s able to touch so many lives. I love her simple faith. I love how she took a step out and took a chance.

Makes me wonder, what things am I missing out on because I am too afraid to fail?

I want to be a fun mom that will run around in the rain, giggle about silly things and take chances.

I want my daughters to say, “I had a good mom,” yes… but I also want them to say, “I had a good friend.”

I don’t want them to observe me cleaning and “being the meanest one in the family”(direct quote), but I want to be the one who sat out in the rain with them, jumped in the puddle, and just lived life a little more carefree. It’s not innate in me to take chances or risks, but I’m working on it. Hence, the change part…

I still have a chance to take more chances.

Change

Then to make a change… this is where it comes to light.

“God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change;
the courage to change the things I can;and the wisdom to know the difference.”
–Reinhold Niebuhr, poet, “Serenity Prayer”

“God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change; the courage to change the things I can; and the wisdom to know the difference.” –Reinhold Niebuhr, poet, “Serenity Prayer”

We may think of many things we want to change… but what are the things that truly matter?

I love changing..setting goals, dreaming of a new-and-improved me…

But if I fail to do the chance part, I may never change.

Here we are, AC blasting, living life a little more carefree…

IMG_8658

Something my children have taught me.

That’s the beauty of life. Every day we wake up with a new chance to make a change…big or small.

I’m inspired to choose to take a chance in order to change…

I’ve got a lot of life ahead.

4 responses to “Chance

  1. Terrific Blog!!! I loved everything and thank you for your honesty and the fun way you look at life and everyday happenings! Jill, you are truly amazing!! Great Read!!!

Tell me what you think!

