Save-the-World

Save-the-World

So you know the people… the ones that like to “save the world.”

There are people out there that are blessed with a compassionate spirit. These people are special.

They reach outside their family, their friends, their little bubble, and they care about the entire human race.

They are unconventional, they are dreamers, and they like to make a difference.

I love these people, but wouldn’t say I was one of them.

In fact, Michael dated a “save-the-world” ish girl before me, and thought he didn’t have that in common with her.

Then he found me, and I guess we leveled on that character trait. (Maybe not the best?)

Anyway, neither of us are prompted to take our family vacation to Mexico to make hygiene kits. We’d selfishly rather go to the beach.

Maybe this will change. I noticed the Duggars did this in their family, and suggested it to Michael.

Taking a trip or humanitarian service as a family, and it didn’t go over too well. haha. Maybe we have some years.

Anyway, we’re working on saving the human race.

We recycle and stuff, but I still get plastic bags.

I have a rational, realistic side that cynically thinks what I do doesn’t really make a big difference. But hey, that’s part of the problem.

I remember seeing The Invisible Children campaign in college, and got on board. I even bought the DVD and wristband and stuff to help the children of Uganda.

College is full of the save-the-world, I have a dreamers.

Just like MLK. I really admire Martin Luther King, Jr. even if Michael didn’t get work off, I think he deserves a holiday.

I love the quote where he says that only love can do it…

mlk

He is a classic example of the “Save the world” type of person I’m talking about.

There are so many of us that fall in line, doing our thing, days go by, and it’s just the same ol’ stuff.

Until a kid like this comes around, and makes me think…

I love the idea of “What do you want to be when you grow up?”

“Happy and healthy.”

Amen.

I hope I can teach my children these lessons…love it.

Idk about homeschool, or hackschool, or whatever, but still…someone doing something DIFFERENT.

Remember, the save-the-world type?

They’re not afraid of risks… Taking chances, doing something cool.

Maybe if it’s too late for me, I can teach my girls to care about the world. Doing something different.

Or who knows, maybe I’ll come up with a genius idea, show up on shark tank, use my money to solve world hunger, and BAM.

MLK holiday status.

Jill_Taylor_Words_Blog

Tell me what you think!

