Silence

Silence

Silence is a rare occurrence around here. We are usually dancing, screaming, laughing or any number of things.

Right now, both girls are sleeping like little angels.

Oh..silence!

It turns out, I need to be more informed. I need some good news sources, so feel free to leave a comment and tell me where you get your daily dose of news.

Anyway, I came across a story today that really grabbed my attention. Like, the kind of attention while I became completely obsessed for hours…annnnddd I should be writing my health care blogs for work during this rare period of double naps, but I had to share this the world.

I’m a communications major. I love it, and I was a teacher’s assistant for a couple years in the ethics/law class. Needless to say, there’s lots about the media and communication that can stir up a good discussion.

Back to the story…

Apparently a man named Dr. Kermit Gosnell has been on trial for the horrific crimes and illegal abortions.

I can’t even summarize the extent of this man’s nasty charges…it just kept getting worse the more I read.

In fact, because of my obsession with communications coverage, I actually read most of the grand jury report that had the majority of details and much more than I wanted to know.

If you want a quick summary, click here for the USA today’s op-ed piece.

Basically, people are upset because this trial isn’t getting front-page coverage. I can’t believe it either.

It makes me so sad to not only see this happening to small babies, but to have women treated so poorly, to have workers lied to and unable to stand for truth, to have law enforcement and government regulators stand by because of bureaucracy, and to contrast that with a loving, safe environment.

My father-in-law delivers babies as an OB/GYN, and my brother-in-law’s family just had their fourth child. It’s a miracle. A sacred place, and a time where the veil is thin with heaven.

I know God wants His babies to come to safe families and homes. It makes me so sad to think the media is SILENT on this, because of political agendas. This is not just a human right’s issue, but one of standing for truth.

Awhile back, I remember Michael talking about our family. He was talking about our girls and our possible future kids someday and said, “You know what, God wants us to have kids. Why wouldn’t He? We try to do what’s right. We have a loving family. We keep the commandments. We love them and want to help them succeed. Why wouldn’t He want to send His spirit children to us?”

Wow. One of the most powerful moments to me as a mother.

Made me want to have another baby, like tomorrow…or a few hundred babies.

But then the diarrhea explosions reach a record of 10 in one day, and I think twice about my hundred unborn babies…

I won’t be silent.

These infants taken by abortion were special, because now they are not brought to suffer the evils of this world.

So sad for those affected by this tragedy, but even more by the direction our media is turning.

We need people who will stand for truth, and not be silent.

And we need moms who will hold their babies a little tighter.

PS: This story is just ew, so I’m sorry if I didn’t give enough details. You can read about the fetus feet in a jar on your own.. 😦

For another interesting read, check out this guy who wanted to create a media-critic newspaper way back in 1946.

Or, read why Dr. Kermit Gosnell’s Trial Should be a Front-Page Story

Jill_Taylor_Words_Blog

One response to “Silence

  1. Jill, Thank You for this incredible post! You write so well, you make me think, you make me cry and you make a difference as you share your life and the things you know to be true with us!
    May you NEVER stop writing!! You are amazing and I am so proud you call me “Mom”!!!
    I love you!!!
    Texas Mom πŸ™‚

Tell me what you think!

