Heart

Last week was a little rough. I was starting to get sick, Nora was teething and Carmen was pushing my energy to the limit. I know we all have those days. I don’t like myself when I get run down, so I knew I had to do something…fast.

I’ve started listening to talks on my iPad when I do stuff I don’t like… Ironing, laundry, etc. and it makes the time go faster.

This one night I pulled up a talk from Julie B. Beck about “A Mother Heart

Some key points:

“What is a mother heart and how is one acquired?

We learn about some of those qualities in the scriptures. To paraphrase Proverbs:

  • “Who can find a … woman [with a mother heart]? for her price is far above rubies. … She … worketh willingly with her hands. … With the fruit of her hands she planteth a vineyard. … She stretcheth out her hand to the poor. … Strength and honour are her clothing. … She openeth her mouth with wisdom; and in her tongue is the law of kindness. She looketh well to the ways of her household, and eateth not the bread of idleness” (Prov. 31:10, 13, 16, 20, 25–27).
  • A woman with a mother heart has a testimony of the restored gospel, and she teaches the principles of the gospel without equivocation.
  • She is keeping sacred covenants made in holy temples.
  • Her talents and skills are shared unselfishly.
  • She gains as much education as her circumstances will allow, improving her mind and spirit with the desire to teach what she learns to the generations who follow her.
  • If she has children, she is a “goodly parent” (1 Ne. 1:1) who lives and teaches standards of behavior exactly in line with the teachings of living prophets.
  • She teaches her “children to pray, and to walk uprightly before the Lord” (D&C 68:28).
  • Rather than listening to the voices and partial truths of the world, she knows that gospel standards are based on eternal, unchangeable truths.
  • She believes that to be “primarily responsible for the nurture of [her] children” is a vital, dignified, and “sacred responsibilit[y]” (“The Family: A Proclamation to the World,” Liahona, Oct. 1998, 24; Ensign, Nov. 1995, 102).
  • To nurture and feed them physically is as much an honor as to nurture and feed them spiritually.
  • She is “not weary in well-doing” and delights to serve her family, because she knows that “out of small things proceedeth that which is great” (D&C 64:33).

That last one got to me. Not weary in well doing.

It hit me so clearly, especially because of my other post and thoughts about my work as a mother and being weary.

I can’t be weary, I can’t get tired. The Lord is there to help me.

I always love seeing the “I am a child of God” sign in my girls’ room.

They really aren’t mine.

This is a reminder that I need to have a mother’s heart and know that this is what I need to experience in order to be fit for heaven.

Such a powerful lesson.

The other thing I got from the talk, was a new appreciation for my own mom.

She came to visit us about a month ago, and I felt like she lifted me higher than ever before.

We are friends.

Working side by side weeding my garden, laughing at Carmen, or learning how to make freezer jam. It was perfect.

A mother never stops caring.

Even if she isn’t AROUND, she’s always AROUND.

That’s what my mother-in-law says. She thinks it’s silly when kids say, “Oh mom will come around.”

She says, “Mom is ALWAYS around.”

It’s true. Moms are there to be our biggest cheerleaders. No one loves us more than our moms.

Another tender blessing was these past couple of days. My mother-in-law offered to watch Carmen for a few days while I try to rest and get over this cold.

What an offer!

I knew I needed to grocery shop and get some things done, and I knew Carmen would get spoiled with love and attention.

She had a blast with Nana, and I get to see her in just about an hour or so.

It felt great to give Nora some attention.

My mothering heart returned.

Michael and I cried the second we drove off… (we’re babies.)

I think it’s because I said, “You think it’s hard to leave her now, just wait until she’s 18 and leaves the house.”

He didn’t like to think of that.

It’s hard to stop caring, stop nurturing and loving.

A mother is a special title and a partnership with God.

I am learning it is truly a refining process, and I know I’m discovering new things every day.

Can’t wait to see my little munchkin.

Thanks to my moms. You never know how often I think of you and appreciate all you are.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It’s only fitting that my mother-in-law loves hearts. She is a woman with a true mother heart.

My mom’s heart is overflowing with service and charity.

It’s so humbling to get a piece of a mother’s heart.

It is one that is constantly overflowing and growing more every day.

Mother’s truly do, have the biggest hearts.

Jill_Taylor_Words_Blog

2 responses to “Heart

  1. Ahhhh Jill…. I am so blessed to have a daughter like you:) I love all of the pictures and you have lifted me more times than you will ever know!!!
    I Love You So!!! Mom

  2. About eight plus hours of sleep is highly recommended for people who want to be in great shape.
    As a body shop owner, I’ve found there are a couple resources for designing your own floor plan. You can access tons of free workout programs, fitness training programs, weight lifting programs and workout routines online.

Tell me what you think!

