Voice

What is your voice?

What do you sound like?

What do your words say about you?

Sometimes our words are all we have to show people who we really are.

A large part of my job is transcribing interviews for my team to use on our website.

I get an audio file, and I listen.

I type.

Word. by. word.

Transcription.

Of hundreds, of thousands of words.

I’ve done nearly 100 interviews.

Every single word is accounted for. I imagine these people in my head.

Some sound more educated and well-spoken.

Others are more friendly, down-to-earth.

A few are excited about the opportunity, a few are not.

I haven’t met a single one.

Yet, their responses, their stories inspire me.

I remember one doctor who was up all night on call. He was struggling to put words together, and the interviewer said, “It’s ok. What you do is very important. You save lives. We just want an interview.”

It’s true. These professionals are saving lives. Each one of them has a larger story to tell.

But what do I hear?

What does the public get?

Only their words.

It’s powerful.

It’s a shame these audio clips will be edited, only to a minute or so.

You can see an example video here.

Patients will be able to see their doctor and hear what they have to say.

A judgement, a decision, all within minutes.

It made me think about how we portray ourselves.

I’ve talked a lot about this with my husband.

I can no longer stand by my old titles: the friend of so-and so, from this family, a cheerleader, the track runner, the sister of that guy, oh she’s the one that got the scholarship, the TA of that class, the roommate of that one girl, she was in my group project…. ALL DOESN’T MATTER.

I’m here. I’m shaping a new life.

No one knows your past, only what you show them.

Through your words.

Although words are powerful, actions speak louder. That’s why when we have the chance to get to know others, the words fade in the background.

No matter how many promises or stories we hear, it means nothing if you’re not really that person in your actions.

I want to be who I think I am.

I want to be a good mom. I want to be a disciple. I have to prove it, show it, and conduct myself in a way that people will KNOW it.

Both by my words and actions.

I love this quote:

“Live in such a way that those who don’t know Christ but know you, will want to know Christ because they know you.”

Does my voice reflect this?

Nora started coo’ing. She’s “talking” a lot more and finding her voice.

It’s such a joy to discover a baby learning how to speak.

I can’t wait to hear what she sounds like. Will she be a good singer? Will she speak kindly?

Our voice is so powerful for good or bad.

Now with modern media, our voice can be carried all around the world.

When my brother served his mission in Africa, I remember thinking… I can hear his voice every weak in his emails. He didn’t give us much to work with (They were usually short…) But he was there.

His words came alive as I read.

His words. His voice.

We all have something to say, but sometimes we can’t.

I worked with deaf people, and learned a lot about Deaf culture.

I love them. They have to find other ways to express themselves.

It must be so hard, yet they are comfortable.

I’m big on communication. Talk about it, feel better, be honest, express your feelings…

How? How when you’re deaf?

We all find a way.

We all have a voice.

We all have something to portray.

To those who know us best, and those who don’t.

I may never meet these doctors, but their voice changes me every day.

Word. by. word.

As I transcribe away!

Thank you for listening to my voice, as I share my thoughts and feelings, about the wonderful world of words.

And to all those old friends…call me sometime.

When you can’t be together, there’s nothing better than hearing the voice of a friend!

Jill_Taylor_Words_Blog

2 responses to “Voice

Tell me what you think!

