Validation

So one of the jewels I found after moving in was a bunch of vases.

You know, the kind you get from the florist.

Well, instead of getting rid of them, I had a burst of inspiration.

Call it a pinter-est moment.

I wanted to spray paint them white and put them above my kitchen decor.

Well then I started thinking, would it look lame?

Today I found this pin, and I thought.. You stole my idea!!

I guess in a big way it was validation.

I guess my idea is cool.

This lady did it, so can I.

So I took my spray paint and did it right then and there.

See, proof.

And my little cheerleader.

Well, there ya have it.

I have cool ideas.

Bonus points for actually DOING it.

Bonus points for having the same idea as an EXPERT on Pinterest!

Extra bonus points for BLOGGING about it.

It’s a proud moment when my crafty-side comes out.

Check out some other things I’ve been experimenting with.

I need some validation, so go on…give me some props!!!

Big question is…the MANTEL! I don’t know if I should take down the picture and just have the white circle medallion as the focal point. Thoughts?

Should I throw in my new white vases??

I also made that flower arrangement and the block of wood with the picture on it. It was my own idea too. I felt so cool.

Maybe I should be nicer and share my ideas on pinterest for others to enjoy.

I feel like all I do is take, take take! haha. Same with the internet forums and consumer reviews.

Here’s a shot of my living room decor arrangement. I feel like I have so many things I want to try, and just a couple spots to do it.

Have to use them wisely and don’t want to clutter.

Ok friends, let me know what you think.

Mantel input? I’m no pro… please share tips or give me a little validation!!

Or..if none of that is prompting you, at least comment on NORA! I mean, really!

 

August Update:
I decided the circle mirror wasn’t working, so I’m going to put that in my room.

I opted for the temple mirror instead.

I think I needed something more substantial on the mantel.

Thanks for the validation!!

Jill_Taylor_Words_Blog

7 responses to “Validation

  1. K, first of all: PROPS to you for actually making something off pinterest!!! I have a list a mile long of crafts i want to make off there, but I’ve never even attempted one of them. sad. You’re AWESOME!
    2nd- They look FABULOUS!!! Way to go! I didn’t know if that one would actually work out or not when i first saw it on pinterest, now i think i really am gonna have to try it! I’ve got a bajillion vases that could use a face-lift… Thanks for be ing the first to take the leap! Hope you don’t think I’m a total copy-cat when I follow your example! LOL…
    3rd- Your house looks FANTASTIC!!!! I told you this awhile ago, but i’m gonna say it again: I LOVE your wreath! All your decor looks amazing πŸ™‚ and i’m not joking a little bit now as I once more beg for your help decorating my place when we’re finally able to move in! I should start doing crafts now… wanna help?
    and last but FURTHEST thing from Least- NORA is ADORABLE! I love that baby! I would steal her from you in a heartbeat if that wasn’t a bad thing to do and I wasn’t trying to go to heaven. lol. Seriously tho, I adore how smiley she is! Anytime you need someone to take her off your hands for a couple hours- CALL ME! I can always use some smiley baby at my house!

  2. Jill!!!! Here is your validation!!!! You have been so busy making some great things!! And that wreath is beautiful! Seriously!!! And the white vases are totally in style right now. So you had a great idea doing that. Your mantel looks great. I looked at it for a while and thought you have a few options. I kind of like the off balance of the white mirror. It’s contrast looks nice. But you could take the mirror down an just hae the frame or take the fram down and move the mirror over. You’d have to look at it and see but I maybe would still with how it is- its unique. Its you and your design and it works! The cool thing about having yor own house is that you could do one thing and test it out for a week and if you don’t like it after that week- try something else! But seriously, you are doing a great job. So far your house is looking great and I wish I was there to come over and help you!!! I love you! Your cheerleader is just adorable!!

    • Steph, thanks for caring about my house even when you are exploring Turkey and other random countries. Makes me feel extra cool. Hope you know I miss you and I’ll try your ideas. πŸ™‚ Thanks girl!!

  3. And you said you weren’t crafty!? I LOVE the painted vases! Your mantel looks great! True ly you did a great job.nYou asked for feedback and the decorator in me would prefer the white mirror lowered or removed because your beautiful picture should be your focus point. Overall I am SO impressed! The bookcase looks great too. Keep up the good work! Oh, and yes love that baby Nora! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Leah. I think you’re right…the frame and the mirror are competing. I”ll try it out! πŸ™‚ Thanks for following me. You’re awesome! πŸ™‚

  4. I think you can change up your mantel every month. Thats what i do, I have some solid pieces and then add and take month to month depending on holidays. I love the vase idea its so fun and super home makery to redo things you already have! I also LOVE the wreath, it is so fun and summery.

Tell me what you think!

