Man

The other day, Michael and I got to go out on a date to celebrate his birthday.

I had been trying to think of something fun, different and romantic and yep…you guessed it,

We went to pick blackberries!

Now, if that’s not romantic, I don’t know what is…

If anyone can look manly picking blackberries, it’s Michael.

Anyway, back to our conversation on our drive.

It was so wonderful to have time alone to talk and connect with him. It was the perfect day, and we really are best friends.

I told him something that I’ve thought long about.

I truly, honestly, and from the bottom of my heart love everything about this man.

I don’t do well with lying. I get awkward when there is contention. I can’t have gaps in my life between the way I feel and the things I say. I like to be straightforward from my heart to my actions to my words.

That is why I told Michael this. I told him that I love him at his core. I don’t make excuses for him. I don’t have to defend him. I have grown to appreciate him more everyday.

This is what marriage is all about, and I felt so incredibly grateful at that moment in our drive.

“The man and the woman who engage in this ordinance of matrimony are engaging in something that is of such far-reaching character, and is of such vast importance, that thereby hangs life and death, and eternal increase. Thereupon depends eternal happiness, or eternal misery.”Β The Eternal Union of Husband and WifeΒ 

I have felt a small part of what this eternal happiness may feel like.

I have a companion.

Worthy, wonderful and absolutely perfect.

He is a man in every sense of the word.

I mean, look at him mow our lawn:

What I love about this, is that Carmen wanted to watch him through the window.

It made me smile, and then I realized…he has other girls in his life besides me.

These girls have NO idea how lucky they are to have this man in their lives.

They will see as years go on, that he knows how to treat a lady.

He will take time to dance and be a prince charming.

He will be a good sport and take them shopping.

He will tell them they are beautiful, and mean it.

He will watch them grow, and he will cry endlessly when it’s time to let them move on.

I appreciated that more on his birthday and also this Father’s Day.

Carmen probably said, “Happy Birthday Daddy” like 100 times.

See, this is her face the morning of his big day that we were waiting for.

And I know she was excited because it was a day to celebrate Dad…not just that we got to eat cake. πŸ™‚

I am so grateful for this man.

“A home is not a home in the eye of the gospel, unless there dwell perfect confidence and love between the husband and the wife.

Home is a place of order, love, union, rest, confidence, and absolute trust; where the breath of suspicion of infidelity can not enter; where the woman and the man each have implicit confidence in each other’s honor and virtue.” The Eternal Union of Husband and WifeΒ 

Our best attempt in getting a picture for Dad

Thank you Michael, for being the man of my dreams.

Thank you for the perfect love and confidence that makes our home a gospel-centered one.

I love you.

 

Jill_Taylor_Words_Blog

3 responses to “Man

  1. Thanks for all your kind words. But you forgot one thing…and that is I am the luckiest man in the world to be married to you and to have Carmen and Nora as my daughters…you 3 are my happiness! Life is wonderful with you by my side. Love you!

  2. Love your posts Jill. So happy for you. I also loved how you say our attempt at getting a picture for dad. Boy do I know that feeling trying to get them both to smile and trying to get one to sit still long enough to capture the moment!

Tell me what you think!

