Inevitable

Some things are inevitable.

I never really considered myself a procrastinator. I typically don’t put things off. The way I see it, if I’m going to have to get it done at some point, might as well be sooner rather than later.

If I get things done sooner, then I don’t have a big cloud hanging over my head. It gives me peace of mind, and I can move on to the next million things I have to do.

With that said, here are a few things I’ve been procrastinating, that in reality are…well, inevitable.

  • I will have to get out of the shower at some point, no matter how nice the hot water feels.
  • I will have to put away my Christmas stuff. Even though I have like 10 decorations, it’s sad to see them packed away.
  • I will have to pay my bills for my prenatal doctor visits. Something about that phone call just is not appealing to me.
  • I will have to organize my jewelry box. Currently, all of my earrings are everywhere. I guess it’s been alright, since Carmen is still learning how to “be soft” and not yank on the ones that hang down.
  • I will have to pack my bag for the hospital. I’m somewhat embarrassed that I forget all the stuff I’ll need for a new baby. Ah!
  • I will have to finish transcribing these interviews for work.  I never realized how fast people talk, and how many words can come out of a 30-minute interview. 10 pages and counting….
  • I will have to set my goals for the new year. Michael and I were planning on doing it for Family Night yesterday, but we were both so exhausted we thought our goals might be a little sub-par and unambitious.
  • I will someday hear back about this house we’ve been waiting on…right? Someday…
There are also bigger things that we want to do, or we want to change.

These come with the new year. IT’S 2012!!!!!!!!!!! New beginnings, new starts, new dreams, new hopes.

New Year's Eve in Tyler

Michael and I actually got to go to the movies over the break to see New Years Eve. I don’t know if it’s just that we hadn’t seen a movie in awhile, but we thought it was pretty good.

Both of us cried, laughed and really enjoyed it. I was just in awe the whole time that I wasn’t constantly entertaining little munchkin.

Anyway, the film made me realize there are lots of people out there that are waiting to change. They want to do things different, they are just waiting….

I see this as another inevitable situation. If you’re going to change…do it.

If you’re going to be better at reading your scriptures…do it.

If you’re going to stop smoking…do it.

If you’re going to be nicer to your mom…do it.

Make a plan, make it happen.

We have so much power as individuals to change. To make ourselves better and to make the world better. Sometimes we just forget that we can start today.

I loved being apart of my sister-in-law Christina’s wedding this past weekend.  Her and Dustin make a beautiful couple and have so much promise ahead of them.

I love new beginnings, renewed commitments, and a new year to make progress on those inevitable parts of life!
Jill_Taylor_Words_Blog

One response to “Inevitable

  1. Jill, I always look forward to reading your posts. You are so uplifting! Thank you.
    I had so much fun in TX with you and the Fam. I really do miss everyone but I’m grateful for the fun memories!

Tell me what you think!

