Jesus

Right in the middle of all the controversy, my little girl is learning how to say “Jesus.”

She takes a wallet-sized photo of Christ with the children, and carries it around the house.

Her face lights up. She smiles and shows me, and I look at her and say, “Yes, that’s Jesus.” Her version is more like “Ee-es.” I’ve even seen her kiss it a few times.

It is even more impressive that she recognizes Him in other pictures around the house. I know that she recognizes His face. It is such a tender experience as a mother, and reminds me of this talk given by one of our church leaders.

So, while sweet Carmen is learning about Jesus, it’s swirling around the news that Mormons, or members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, aren’t Christians.

It’s been quite the story. See my collection below:

Is Mormonism a Cult? Are They Christian?

Dr. Robert Jeffress Speaks With CNN’s Anderson Cooper:

MSNBC Digs Deeper:

Romney’s Response:

http://i.cdn.turner.com/cnn/.element/apps/cvp/3.0/swf/cnn_416x234_embed.swf?context=embed&videoId=politics/2011/10/08/bts-romney-values-mormon.cnn

A Great Explanation of the Two Viewpoints, coming from a Christian:
CNN commentary

Another Explanation:

http://josephantley.com/2011/10/11/are-mormons-christians/

Are Mormons Christians? Jeffrey R. Holland explains in detail the theological issues that sometimes are in question:
(Note the date on this talk…it was a few years ago)

A Personal Experience about Christianity:

A Beautiful Song and Slideshow about Jesus Christ:

Needless to say, this is a hot topic.

I consider myself a true Christian, meaning that I believe Jesus Christ to be my Savior and the Son of God. He is the only way to true happiness in this life and in the life to come. My testimony stands alongside our leaders. I know the world likes to take simple truths and distort, argue, confuse and manipulate.

I know religion and politics has long been a place where values intercede.

I also know that this pastor will confuse some, but also lead some to really find out more about our Church and more importantly, what we believe about Jesus Christ.

I’m not big in government, into Mitt Romney’s campaign, or even the election…but consider this:

Just because you do not take an interest in politics doesn’t mean politics won’t take an interest in you.
         — Pericles (430 B.C.)

Numerous issues have fallen into our lives, because of the world where we live.

I hope my little Carmen will grow up knowing Jesus…and that those around me will know our family is founded on Jesus and his teachings.

Final Thoughts:

“The best and most clear indicator that we are progressing spiritually and coming unto Christ is the way we treat other people.”
Marvin J. Ashton

“Perhaps the greatest charity comes when we are kind to each other, when we don’t judge or categorize someone else, when we simply give each other the benefit of the doubt or remain quiet. Charity is accepting someone’s differences, weaknesses, and shortcomings; having patience with someone who has let us down; or resisting the impulse to become offended when someone doesn’t handle something the way we might have hoped. Charity is refusing to take advantage of another’s weakness and being willing to forgive someone who has hurt us. Charity is expecting the best of each other.

None of us need one more person bashing or pointing out where we have failed or fallen short. Most of us are already well aware of the areas in which we are weak. What each of us does need is family, friends, employers, and brothers and sisters who support us, who have the patience to teach us, who believe in us, and who believe we’re trying to do the best we can, in spite of our weaknesses. What ever happened to giving each other the benefit of the doubt? What ever happened to hoping that another person would succeed or achieve? What ever happened to rooting for each other?”
Marvin J. Ashton

I hope members of my faith will remember true Charity when discussing this issue. Boy oh boy, how the media loves us “Mormons!” 🙂 Trust me, in my old job at LDS Public affairs, it was nutso the things I read and saw! I wonder what it’s like over there after stuff like this. I don’t blame them for their response, especially after reading the above quote.

Anyway, please watch the videos and read the articles and let me know what you think!

 

***NOVEMBER 8th UPDATE:

Official LDS Church Commentary, “Christianity: Following Jesus in Word and Deed

Jill_Taylor_Words_Blog

6 responses to “Jesus

  1. Jill Thanks so much for this great message! Your little Carmen sounds absolutely precious. It has been one of the sweetest experiences for me as a mother to listen to my daughter talk about Jesus.

  2. Jill ! So powerful! So many can try to tell me what I believe but I know in my heart that I know my Savior and He knows me! …Carmen, being so young, does know Jesus! (Mormons are not a cult…we do not worship Joseph Smith …He is a honored prophet just as is Moses or Isaiah…) If you wonder about Mormons???…..By their fruits ye shall know them:)
    Follow the Savior’s invitation…” Come learn of me”!!
    P.S. You can play that slideshow of I Know That My Redeemer Lives at my funeral:)

  3. HI Jill! I just saw you post about your blog on FB. Oh goody.. now I can stalk your every move 🙂 just kidding… 🙂 Carmen sounds so cute right now, I wish we could see her! Beautiful post too. love you girl!

  4. Thanks everyone!
    @Mom, glad you liked the slideshow enough to deem it “funeral worthy” that’s a big deal.

    @Jenna, I miss you and wish carmen and will could run around together! feel free to stalk me all you want. that’s what long-distance friends do, silly! 🙂

    @Kym, I bet it’s so humbling to hear the little ones talk about Jesus…I just can’t believe she’s already getting to this stage. They grow up fast, don’t they!?

Tell me what you think!

