Debt

I’m not anti-American. I’m not anti-Obama. I’m just anti-debt.

It’s not news that we’re in lots of debt–that’s been going on for years. The news is all surrounding how we’re going to fix this huge problem.

The way I see it, it seems ridiculous. I’ve basically accepted that we are never going to get out of debt as a country. I believe Jesus Christ will come again to the earth, before America is debt-free. I’m actually really grateful for my belief in His second coming. It helps me to cope with the declining morals of society, the tragedies, the wars, the natural disasters and now…the debt. I know that God has a plan. He told us that it would get like this before the Savior comes in His glory.

I just finished reading the Book of Mormon. I’ve read it over and over, and every time I gain a stronger witness that it is a true book. I know that it is from God. I read the final chapter by Moroni, and was crying as I read his final testimony. He bore witness that the Savior would come again. I know it’s true.

Anyway, back to the debt.

So I’m also grateful for living prophets who have helped us and for years, counseled us to stay out of debt. Of course, there are necessary and reasonable investments that you must go into debt for. The everyday credit-card debt that is swarming our society is probably not one of those investments. I know debt is a burden. It can cause pain, worry, and heartache. It breaks up marriages and impairs faith in the future.

It’s hurting the faith of those in our country. They are losing faith in our nation, in our leaders.

Check out this picture:

I thought it was pretty funny. Of course it’s not all of Obama’s fault we are in this situation. The guy, just like all presidents before him, has to take all the heat. I’m not going to give my opinion on all the possible solutions. Let’s just say, we got to figure it out and do something that will actually work. Don’t play pretend and worry about votes.

Cool quote to sum it up:

“If the US Government was a family, they would be making $58,000 a year, they spend $75,000 a year and are $327,000 in credit card debt. They are currently proposing BIG spending cuts to reduce their spending to $72,000 a year. These are actual proportions of the federal budget and debt, reduced to a level we can understand.” –Dave Ramsey.

Thanks Dave!

Did I mention we had Michael’s cousin and her family to visit from Norway? After all this mess about politics and hearing that in Norway you get a year of full-pay maternity leave, we were just about to go back with them! πŸ™‚ haha.

Jill_Taylor_Words_Blog

Tell me what you think!

