Perspective

I’ve been thinking about things.

My life has been wonderful. To be honest, I’m still waiting for that huge thunderstorm to come where I will need to hold on for dear life and try my best to smile.

But today, I’m happy.

Michael surprised me last night with a “Cinderella” storybook he made. He said I had been slaving away and it was time for my fairy godmother to come. πŸ™‚ So sweet.

I realize not everyone lives a fairy tale. Life is hard.

It’s a beautiful thing though. During those times of trial is when we can see our potential. Or maybe, it takes looking back, and then we can see our potential.

That’s what perspective is all about. It’s zooming out to see a bigger picture. That life isn’t always about us. It’s about living and learning and doing and becoming.

I’ve related with lots of friends recently. Some ready to have a baby, some looking for jobs, some excited it’s summer so the kids can swim, and some who are just trying to make ends meet.

Then I had some time with Shania.

Yep, Shania Twain. Turns out growing up she had a really hard life. See her journey back to her childhood home here.

Ok, yes it’s an Oprah link.

Here’s the deal. I had some ironing to do, and I was feeling domestic so I thought I’d watch a show or something while I ironed. Turns out Oprah knows that moms are home in the afternoon, so bam, there ya go. But could you really resist listening about Shania Twain? She’s amazing and amazingly beautiful.

So she talked about her marriage, her betrayal from her friend having an affair with her husband, and how it’s taken her a long time to “find her voice.” She wrote a book, and now she’s moving forward with a new perspective.

An amazing woman that totally changed my view of her.

Because that’s what life is about. Learning, adapting and holding on to what we know is true.

Here are some thoughts for today! Enjoy.

Anyone listen to the Shania videos? What did you think?

Jill_Taylor_Words_Blog

3 responses to “Perspective

  1. I always love your blog. I have been a little absent from reading lately because I have been out of town. THanks for your thoughts on perspective. I 100% agree… oh no my little one is waking up from his nap. Better run. Glad you like Caitlynn. Makes me so excited!!

Tell me what you think!

