Uganda

So Saturday night I had one of the best phone calls.

My brother Darin got to call us from Uganda, Africa. He’s been on his mission for about 21 months or so, and I was really looking forward to hearing from him.

Even more, it was awesome that we all got to be on the phone at the same time. My family is all about the iPhones…they could really be on a commercial by now. Even my dad has turned “high-tech.” Anyway, Kent set up our conference-calls so we could all hear Darin at once. The sound was clear, and we weren’t cramped around a phone all trying to hear. (The last call was at Christmas and Amy and I were sharing a land-line phone…and sharing the same chair.) It was a miracle we could talk to someone way over in Uganda!

Anyway, since I’ve moved away from my family I’ve missed the “togetherness.”Β  Not just being physically together, but the dynamics of our family. Saturday night I felt like that all came back. While Darin’s been gone, it’s just not the same. We miss his jokes, his “voice of reason,” his easy-going personality, and way of making us all laugh and happy.

I know life changes and people grow up and move on or move out, but I was so happy to get a glimpse of my family…all of us!

So, Darin is in UGANDA!

You know what that means? Aside from the political unrest and riots, the people are so great. Darin told stories how they are so child-like, faithful and kind. They are so dedicated to the Church. In fact, he said one man rides his bike to Church, so it doesn’t take 3 hours to walk! And think of some of the excuses we make as to why we can’t go to Church each Sunday.

He also said they found a cobra hole right next to where they do baptisms. That’s nuts! They tried to flood out the snake…we’ll see what happens. haha.

Darin also said he reads my blog!! How awesome is that! I felt so loved. πŸ™‚

Anyway, this one is a shout-out to him…and to UGANDA! I know it’s a whole nother world over there!

2 responses to “Uganda

Tell me what you think!

