Constant

Mother’s Day is so special to me this year. It is the first time I’m a new mother, and it’s a good time to reflect on everything that means to me.

As I thought about it, I realized mothers are constant.

To me, my mother was always one I could rely on. She was constantly giving me rides, constantly cooking, constantly working on projects, constantly serving others and our family. She would always take time to make me feel important. I knew I could depend on her and that she loved me.

The next stage of life when I moved out of the house, I still knew she was there for me. She became a constant when a lot of things were changing in life. School, studies, tests, roommates, seasons…she was always there. I remember calling her when I walked home from BYU classes, or right after a test. She was my biggest fan, and I’m sure my siblings heard the constant sound of my ringtone… ๐Ÿ™‚

Then, I became a wife, and my mother was still constant. Not the constant that interferes with a relationship, but a constant support when I needed her. I remember calling her in a panic when I needed to make dinner and was out of a certain ingredient. She’d answer my question and then let me go on my way. She’d never be a bother, only a loving, wonderful mother.

The best stage was when I became a mother. I thought I knew what it was going to be like.

Boy, was I wrong.

No matter how much you appreciate mothers, you will never EVER know, until you become one.

The sacrifice is constant. The crying at night-constant. The feedings, the changes, the giggles, the smiles, the worries…. It never ends.

But it is a beautiful thing.

Carmen has taught me more about myself, than in the 20 something years all combined. I’ve been stretched, rewarded and developed into a new person. I’m a mother!

I feel so blessed to have Michael by my side. I know there are so many mothers who do it alone, but not me. I’m so lucky to have my best friend encouraging me and appreciating me every step of the way. Plus, he gave me two gifts: Carmen andย  HIS mother. Hilde is a saint. It would not be right to write about Mother’s Day, without expressing my love to my mother-in-law. Thank you for treating me as your own. She is a new constant whom I can always depend on.

Well, there are good feelings all around. I hope your Mother’s Day is as blessed as mine is. My heart is overflowing with joy.

Take a look at some of these fun pictures. I love you MOM!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 responses to “Constant

  1. Wow! Jill! I am so lucky to have you for a daughter! You have been a CONSTANT gift to me ever since the doctor put you in my arms:) YOU ARE MY JOY

    P.S. Thanks for only posting pictures that I look good in!Haha!

Tell me what you think!

