Puppy-Guarding

The other night Michael and I were watching the Los Angeles Lakers play the Golden State Warriors. I”m not sure if I should really post about this, because it might draw attention to the fact that LA lost. Pretty embarrassing, but that’s not the point of the post.

We were cuddled up on the couch, watching the game together. I like to watch basketball, but sometimes I find the need to multi-task. (Go figure.) This time I wasn’t multi-tasking, and that usually leads to me talking through the game or asking a lot of questions. Let’s be clear, these questions aren’t dumb questions about basketball, these are insightful ones like about strategy and stuff. Just needed to clarify. haha.

Anyway, at one point in the game, I asked if the call was for Defensive Three-Seconds in the key. I knew about the call, but I wasn’t sure if that’s what the Ref signaled. Michael said that wasn’t the call, and that was that. Then he went on to explain the call in more detail. He basically said you can’t be underneath the basket or in the key, unless you are an arms-length distance away from a defender.

This guy was called for Defensive Three Seconds:

The NBA explains it like this:

“A defensive player is not allowed inside the key area for more than three seconds unless he is guarding the player with the ball or is actively guarding any opponent. To be considered actively guarding, a defender must be within an arms length of his opponent. If an offensive player moves through the key, the defender must be within an arms length, and also move along with the offensive player. He can not just stand there and put his arms out to the new three-second count.” From the NBA’s most misunderstood rules.

Basically exactly what Michael said in much fewer words!

Anyway, so I got excited and said, “Oh, it’s like puppy-guarding.” Michael started cracking up.

Puppy-guarding..what’s that?”

“You don’t remember puppy-guarding?” I couldn’t believe it.

“Not really.”

“It’s when you’re playing tag or something and you’re guarding the goal so no one can get there,” I explained.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/crowjonah/2428566719/sizes/m/in/photostream/

Photo Credit: Crowjonah

Clearly puppy-guarding is the same as Defensive Three Seconds. I thought it was a brilliant comparison, and we both continued to crack up at how funny that word was. Oh, the memories of childhood!

Tell me what you think!

